28 high school students graduate from Mayor’s Youth Committee

This year, 28 juniors and seniors from public and charter high schools throughout Mesa completed the rigorous Mayor’s Youth Committee program that began in September. MYC is made up of a select group of students nominated by their school principals and counselors to participate in the competitive application process.
Throughout the program, students learn the ins and outs of city government, research and present solutions to real city issues and participate in community events.
“I am very proud of all these students and the leadership role they have taken,” Mayor John Giles said. “They understand the importance of civic participation in governance and are dedicated to giving back to their community.”
The students interact with the mayor, city council members and city departments such as, transportation, economic development, solid waste and parks, recreation and commercial facilities while working on assignments.
This year, MYC designed service projects for the capstone Mayor’s Assignment. They presented their projects to Mayor Giles and Vice Mayor Dennis Kavanaugh who then selected a project for the entire committee to participate in for Global Youth Service Day.
The selected project was a book drive for kindergarten through third grade students at Mesa schools. The drive netted nearly 600 books and MYC spent Global Youth Service Day sorting, cleaning and preparing the books for delivery. An asterisk by a name means graduating with honors:
The 2015 Mayor’s Youth Committee graduates are: Chadwick Ali’varius*, Sara Bernau*, Brendan Bogar, Aubree Carroll*, Naomi Chien, Bailey Coleman, Alexis Darby, Erica Durham, Zachary Edwards*, Joseph Wesley Fairbanks, Jeffrey Groscost, Ryan Gurr*, Gunnar Israel*, Samantha Layton, Hayley Manwaring*, Autumn Minarchin*, Toral Patel, Tulcy Patel, Andrew Peterson*, Erica Preblich*, Kate Price, Ezequiel Ramos, Abanezer Sisay, Connor Smith, Mario Uriarte*, Mea Valli-Doherty*, Katie Velders and Hannah Young*
The Mesa Historic Preservation Board has announced the winners of the Historical Fiction Writing Contest that was open to all fourth-, fifth-and sixth-grade students living in the city of Mesa. The essays were fictional stories with real and imaginary characters on the life and times of the Hohokam Indian Culture or Mesa Grande Park. The contest winners were recognized at the May 18 Mesa City Council meeting:
•First Place, Gordon Badgett, fourth grade, Highland Arts Elementary, $50, for his story “The Journey.” Gordon’s teacher, Emily Allen, had her entire class enter the contest.
•Second Place, Alyssa Ford, fourth grade, Mesa Academy for the Advanced Studies, $30, for her story “Every Last Drop.”
•Third Place, Abigale Hall, sixth grade, Patterson Elementary, $20, for her story “Huntress.”
Mesa Historic Preservation Board members judged the essays on historical accuracy, writing and creativity. Mesa resident Ed Mack donated the prize money.
Upper Iowa University announced that Sondra Crowley of Mesa graduated with a Bachelor of Science in management in December.
Upper Iowa University has 25 U.S. off-campus education centers, a traditional residential campus in Fayette, international centers in Hong Kong and Malaysia, as well as an extensive online program and self-paced degree program.

    Recent Posts

    You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.